The Orange Historical Society is housed in the former home of local businessman, Stephen French. It was built in 1866-1867. Mr. French’s daughter Grace Weymouth was the original curator of the Orange Historical Society. Collections were housed in the basement of the library until the flood of 1936. Grace and her husband moved the salvageable items from the library to their home. She opened her home to the public to exhibit the artifacts. In 1942, the Orange Historical Society was chartered and purchased the house by paying off the mortgage of approximately $4,000, with the stipulation that Grace could live in the house until her death, which she did. The Orange Historical Society is located at 41 North Main Street, Orange, MA, and showcase an abundance of wonderful historical artifacts. Visit the website for contact information and hours of operation.